programnoob.blogg.se

Mac lacie hd utilities
Mac lacie hd utilities












mac lacie hd utilities
  1. Mac lacie hd utilities manual#
  2. Mac lacie hd utilities archive#

Mac lacie hd utilities archive#

The problem was that I was using Apple's Backup, which may be fine as an archive application but miserable as a backup app because over the course of time, it chews through my backup HD until I am out of space. I'll bet some of you are asking why I'd not backed up.

mac lacie hd utilities

In retrospect, I could have shortened my agony by three days had I known about and performed the test at the outset and I wouldn't be missing some of my files. My supplier has since confirmed the failed DIMM and we await replacements. Since removal of the pair, I've had no problems. Swapping the indicated DIMM with its counterpart in the other bank saw the problem move with the DIMM in the subsequent test. A second test indicated the same DIMM as faulty. There I was introduced to the Apple Hardware Test - a program resident on by original installation disk, found by booting from the disk with the OPTION key held down.Īlthough TechTool Deluxe had reported that my hardware was OK, the detailed Apple test identified a failed DIMM.

Mac lacie hd utilities manual#

At one point, I finally read the manual - the operations manual that came with my G5 PowerMac. I covered a lot of ground in my attempts to resolve this, to the point that I actually lost some files to make more room on my HD (it was getting near the overfull level). Sleep on it!Īlthough peripherally related (strange happenings), I recently had a spate of system crashes (the four language black box), Safari crashes, CD and DVD burn failures, and some HD scrambling. Now, the desktop did have problems (the menubar icons were missing from the top right corner of the screen, and everything was running strangely), but once I had unmounted the drive properly and done a restart and connected the drive again, it all worked fine.ĭon't give up. When I woke up, I plugged the computer back in with the drive still connected to the computer, and amazingly, there it was on the desktop! So I turned it all off and unplugged it at the wall and went to bed, thinking I had lost all the work which was on my storage device. I tried this for 30 minutes, and still nothing. Then I read that I should unplug the drive, turn off and unplug the computer, leave it for 10 minutes, then turn the computer back on and reconnect the drive. After the tightening in my chest and tingling sensation went from my arm, I found an article which suggested I unplug the drive and zap the PRAM, and then once it was rebooted, reconnect the drive. It wasn't appearing on the desktop, and when I checked in System Profiler, it wasn't appearing either. I completely lost my LaCie hard drive last night.














Mac lacie hd utilities